This table links into the wedding rules associated with the states and tries to summarize a number of their points that are salient. Those enthusiastic about the wedding legislation of a jurisdiction that is particular review its legislation straight as opposed to count on this summary which might never be fully accurate or complete.
Related LII materials include:
|State||popular Law Marriage||chronilogical age of consent to marry||Medical exams||Marriage permit|
|Age with parental permission||Age without parental permission||Max. duration between exam and license||range of medical exam||Waiting period before license||Duration of permit credibility (expiration)|
|Alabama- Title 30, Chapter 1||Yes||16 a, b||18||-||-||-||thirty day period|
|Alaska- Title 25, Chapter 5||No||16 c||18||-||-||3 times, d||a few months|
|Arizona- Chapter 1, Article 1||No||16 c (2)||18||-||-||-||1 Arkansas- Title 9, Subtitle 2, § 11||No year||18||-||-||f||-|
|California- Family Code, §§ 300-500||No||b, g||18||thirty days, d, h||-||-||ninety days|
|Colorado- §§ 14-2-105 thru 14-2-110||Yes||16 c||18||-||-||-||1 month|
|Connecticut- Title 46b, § 815e||No||16 c (2)||18||-||i||4 days, d||65 days|
|Delaware- Title 13, Chapter 1||No||18||-||-||twenty four hours, j||1 month|
|Florida- Title 43, Chapter 741||No||16 a, ag ag e||18||-||-||-||60 times|
|Georgia- §§ 19-3-1 thru 19-3-68||No gg||16 ag ag e, k||18||-||i||3 times, l||thirty days|
|Hawaii- § 572||No||15 k||18||-||-||----||thirty days|
|Idaho- § 32-301 thru 32-501||No gg||16 c||18||-||m, n||-||-|
|Illinois- Chapter 750, CS 5, Part II||No||16 o||18||-||p||one day||60 times|
|Indiana- Title 31, Article 11||No gg||17 ag ag e||18||-||q||-||60 times|
|Iowa- Chapter 595||Yes||16 k||18||-||-||3 times||-|
|Kansas- Chapter 23, Article 1||Yes||16 c (2)||18||-||-||3 times, d||half a year|
|Kentucky- Chapter 402||No||18 k||18||-||-||-||thirty days|
|Louisiana- Title IV, Chapter 1 (Civil Code 86)||No||18 c||18||10 times||-||-||-|
|Maine- Title 19, Chapter 23||No||16 c||18||-||-||3 times, d, f||3 months|
|Maryland- hot russian brides §§ 2-201 thru 2-503||No||16 e, r||18||-||-||48 hours, d||six months|
|Massachusetts- Title III, Chapter 207||No||Male-14 k Female-12 k||18||3-60 days, s||-||3 times, f||60 times|
|Michigan- Chapter 551||No||16||18||-||-||3 times, d||33 days after application|
|Minnesota- Chapter 517||No||16 k||18||-||-||5 times, d||a few months|
|Mississippi- Title 93, Chapter 1||No||g, k||thirty day period||t||3 times, d||-|
|Missouri- Chapter 451||No||15 u||18||-||-||-||thirty day period|
|Montana- Title 40, Chapter 1||Yes||16 k||18||-||t||-||180 times|
|Nebraska- Chapter 42||No||17||19||-||i||-||one year|
|Nevada- Title 11, Chapter 122||No||16 c||18||-||-||-||one year|
|brand brand New Hampshire- Title 43, Chapter 457||No||Male- 14 v Female- 13 v||18||-||-||3 times, d, f||ninety days|
|New Jersey- Title 37||No||16 c, e||18||-||-||72 hours, d||30 times|
|brand brand New Mexico- Chapter 40, Article 1||No||16 ag ag e, u||18||30 times||t||-||-|
|brand brand brand New York- Domestic Relations (Chapter 14), Articles 1 and 2||No||16 v||18||-||w||24 hours||60 times|
|new york- Chapter 51||No||16 e||18||-||-||-||-|
|North Dakota- Chapter 14-03||No||16||18||-||-||-||60 times|
|Ohio- Title 31, Chapter 3101||No gg||Male-18 k Female-16 c, ag ag e||18||-||-||5 times, d, x||60 times|
|Oklahoma- 43-3||No gg||16 c, e||18||1 month, d||t||y||30 days|
|Oregon- Title 11-106||No||17 z||18||-||-||3 times, d||60 days|
|Pennsylvania- Title 23, Part 1||No gg||16 u||18||1 month||t||3 times, d||60 days|
|Rhode Island- Title 15, Chapters 15-1 thru 15-3||Yes||18||-||aa||-||a couple of months|
|South Carolina- Title 20, Chapter 1||Yes||16 e||18||-||-||one day||-|
|Southern Dakota- Title 25, Chapters 1 and 2||No||16 ag e||18||-||-||-||20 times|
|Tennessee- Title 36, Chapter 3||No||16 u||18||-||-||3 days, d, bb||30 days|
|Texas- Title 1, Subtitles the and B||Yes||16 k, v||18||-||-||cc||thirty days|
|Utah- Title 30, Chapter 1||Yes||16 a||18 dd||-||-||-||thirty day period|
|Vermont- Title 15, Chapter 1||No||16 k||18||thirty days, d||t||one day, d||-|
|Virginia- Title 20, Chapter 2||No||16 a, e||18||-||ee||-||60 times|
|Washington- Title 26, Chapter 4||No||17 u||18||-||ff||3 times||60 times|
|western Virginia- Chapter 48, Article 1||No||18 ag ag e||18||-||t||3 days, d||-|
|Wisconsin- Chapter 765 thru 767||No||16||18||-||letter||5 times, d||30 days|
|Wyoming- Title 20, Chapter 1||No||16 u||18||-||i||-||-|
|District of Columbia- Division VIII, Title 46, Subtitle 1, Chapter 4||Yes||16 a||18||thirty days||t||3 days, d||-|
|Puerto Rico||No||Male-18 c, e, u Female-16 c, ag e, u||Male- 21 Female- 21 ag ag e||-||t||-||-|
shows that the writers of the dining table were not able to find any details about this issue
- (a) Parental permission maybe not needed if small was previously hitched.
- (b) Other statutory needs use.
- (c) more youthful parties may marry with parental permission.
- (c) (2) Younger parties may marry with parental and judicial permission.
- (d) Waiting period can be prevented
- ( ag e) Younger parties may get license in the event of maternity or delivery of youngster.
- (f) Parties must register notice of intention to marry with regional clerk.
- (g) No age limitations
- (h) whenever unmarried guy and unmarried girl, perhaps perhaps not minors, have now been residing together as guy and spouse, they could, without wellness certification, be hitched upon issuance of appropriate authorization.
- (i) Venereal infection and rubella (for feminine)
- (j) Residents, before termination of twenty-four hour waiting duration; non-residents, before termination of 96 hour waiting duration.
- (k) Parental consent and/or permission of judge needed.
- (l) Unless events are 18 many years of age or maybe more, or feminine is expecting, or candidates will be the parents of the residing child created away from wedlock.
- (m) Rubella for female; there are specific exceptions, and region judge may waive examination that is medical proof that crisis exists.
- (letter) candidates must get information about AIDS and certify having read it.
- (o) Judicial permission might be offered whenever parents will not consent.
- (p) Venereal conditions; test for sickle mobile anemia provided at demand of examining doctor.
- (q) Any unsterilized feminine under 50 must submit with application for permit a medical report saying whether she had immunological a reaction to rubella, or even a written record that the rubella vaccine had been administered on or after her very very first birthday celebration. Judge may by order dispense with your demands.
- (r) If events have reached minimum 16 years old, evidence of age and consent of events in individual are needed. If a parent is sick an affidavit because of the incapacitated moms and dad and a doctor's affidavit needed.
- (s) Doctor's certification must certanly be filed thirty day period prior to see of intention.
- (t) Venereal conditions. In WV and okay, Circuit court judge may waive requirement
- (u) Younger parties may get permit in special circumstances.
- (v) Below chronilogical age of permission parties require parental permission and authorization of judge, no more youthful than 14 for men and 13 for females.
- (w) Tests for sickle cellular can be needed.
- (x) candidates under age 18 must declare that they will have had wedding guidance.
- (y) If an individual or both events are underneath the age for wedding without parental permission, three time waiting duration.
- (z) If an event does not have any parent living within state, plus one celebration has residence in state for 6 months, no authorization needed.
- (aa) real assessment and bloodstream test needed; offer of HIV counseling needed.
- (bb) Unless events are over 18 years old.
- (cc) 72 hour period that is waiting issuance of permit.
- (dd) Authorizes counties to produce for premarital guidance as a prerequisite to issuance of permit to individuals under 18 and individuals formerly divorced.
- (ee) needed offer of HIV test, and/or must certanly be given home elevators AIDS and tests available.
- (ff) No exam needed, but events must file affidavit of non-affiliction with contagious venereal condition.
- (gg) No common-law wedding could be entered into, however these states recognize typical legislation marriages that have been entered into before these times:
- Georgia- entered into just before January 1, 1997 are recognized,
- Idaho- joined into just before 1, 1997 are recognized january,
- Indiana- joined into just before January 1, 1958 are recognized,
- Ohio- entered into ahead of 10, 1991 are recognized october,
- Oklahoma - entered into ahead of November 1, 1998 are recognized, current situation unclear,
- Pennsylvania- entered into ahead of September 17, 2003 (see PNC Bank Corp. v. W.C.A. B., 831 A.2d 1269 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2003) or maybe January 1, 2005 (see 2004 home Bill No. 2719) are recognized.
- (hh) minimal age for common-law wedding determined to be 12; legislature instituted age that is minimum of for marriages started on or after September 1, 2006
Source: located in component for a chart when you look at the World Almanac and Book of Facts, World Almanac Books, 1999. Entries are updated through overview of the statutes and links added to permit direct assessment associated with the state statutes.