This table links to the wedding legislation associated with the states and tries to summarize a number of their points that are salient. Those enthusiastic about the wedding legislation of a jurisdiction that is particular review its legislation straight as opposed to count on this summary that may never be completely accurate or complete.
Related LII materials include:
|State||typical Law Marriage||chronilogical age of permission to marry||Medical exams||Marriage permit|
|Age with parental permission||Age without parental consent||Max. duration between exam and license||Scope of medical exam||Waiting period before license||Duration of permit legitimacy (expiration)|
|Alabama- Title 30, Chapter 1||Yes||16 a, b||18||-||-||-||thirty days|
|Alaska- Title 25, Chapter 5||No||16 c||18||-||-||3 times, d||a few months|
|Arizona- Chapter 1, Article 1||No||16 c (2)||18||-||-||-||1 12 months|
|Arkansas- Title 9, Subtitle 2, § 11||No||18||-||-||f||-|
|California- Family Code, §§ 300-500||No||b, g||18||thirty day period, d, h||-||-||ninety days|
|Colorado- §§ 14-2-105 thru 14-2-110||Yes||16 c||18||-||-||-||thirty days|
|Connecticut- Title 46b, § 815e||No||16 c (2)||18||-||i||4 days, d||65 days|
|Delaware- Title 13, Chapter 1||No||18||-||-||twenty four hours, j||1 month|
|Florida- Title 43, Chapter 741||No||16 a, e||18||-||-||-||60 times|
|Georgia- §§ 19-3-1 thru 19-3-68||No gg||16 ag e, k||18||-||i||3 days, l||thirty days|
|Hawaii- § 572||No||15 k||18||-||-||----||thirty days|
|Idaho- § 32-301 thru 32-501||No gg||16 c||18||-||m, n||-||-|
|Illinois- Chapter 750, CS 5, Part II||No||16 o||18||-||p||one day||60 times|
|Indiana- Title 31, Article 11||No gg||17 ag ag e||18||-||q||-||60 times|
|Iowa- Chapter 595||Yes||16 k||18||-||-||3 times||-|
|Kansas- Chapter 23, Article 1||Yes||16 c (2)||18||-||-||3 times, d||half a year|
|Kentucky- Chapter 402||No||18 k||18||-||-||-||thirty days|
|Louisiana- Title IV, Chapter 1 (Civil Code 86)||No||18 c||18||10 times||-||-||-|
|Maine- Title 19, Chapter 23||No||16 c||18||-||-||3 times, d, f||ninety days|
|Maryland- §§ 2-201 thru 2-503||No||16 e, r||18||-||-||48 hours, d||six months|
|Massachusetts- Title III, Chapter 207||No||Male-14 k Female-12 k||18||3-60 days, s||-||3 times, f||60 times|
|Michigan- Chapter 551||No||16||18||-||-||3 times, d||33 days after application|
|Minnesota- Chapter 517||No||16 k||18||-||-||5 days, d||a few months|
|Mississippi- Title 93, Chapter 1||No||g, k||thirty days||t||3 days, d||-|
|Missouri- Chapter 451||No||15 u||18||-||-||-||thirty days|
|Montana- Title 40, Chapter 1||Yes||16 k||18||-||t||-||180 times|
|Nebraska- Chapter 42||No||17||19||-||i||-||one year|
|Nevada- Title 11, Chapter 122||No||16 c||18||-||-||-||12 months|
|brand brand New Hampshire- Title 43, Chapter 457||No||Male- 14 v Female- 13 v||18||-||-||3 days, d, f||3 months|
|New Jersey- Title 37||No||16 c, e||18||-||-||72 hours, d||30 times|
|brand brand New Mexico- Chapter 40, Article 1||No||16 ag ag e, u||18||30 times||t||-||-|
|brand brand New York- Domestic Relations (Chapter 14), Articles 1 and 2||No||16 v||18||-||w||24 hours||60 times|
|new york- Chapter 51||No||16 ag e||18||-||-||-||-|
|North Dakota- Chapter 14-03||No||16||18||-||-||-||60 times|
|Ohio- Title 31, Chapter 3101||No gg||Male-18 k Female-16 c, ag e||18||-||-||5 days, d, x||60 times|
|Oklahoma- 43-3||No gg||16 c, e||18||1 month, d||t||y||30 times|
|Oregon- Title 11-106||No||17 z||18||-||-||3 times, d||60 days|
|Pennsylvania- Title 23, Part 1||No gg||16 u||18||1 month||t||3 times, d||60 days|
|Rhode Island- Title 15, Chapters 15-1 thru 15-3||Yes||18||-||aa||-||three months|
|sc- Title 20, Chapter 1||Yes||16 e||18||-||-||one day||-|
|Southern Dakota- Title 25, Chapters 1 and 2||No||16 ag ag ag e||18||-||-||-||20 times|
|Tennessee- Title 36, Chapter 3||No||16 u||18||-||-||3 days top asian dating sites, d, bb||30 days|
|Texas- Title 1, Subtitles the and B||Yes||16 k, v||18||-||-||cc||thirty days|
|Utah- Title 30, Chapter 1||Yes||16 a||18 dd||-||-||-||thirty days|
|Vermont- Title 15, Chapter 1||No||16 k||18||thirty days, d||t||one day, d||-|
|Virginia- Title 20, Chapter 2||No||16 a, e||18||-||ee||-||60 times|
|Washington- Title 26, Chapter 4||No||17 u||18||-||ff||3 times||60 times|
|West Virginia- Chapter 48, Article 1||No||18 ag ag e||18||-||t||3 times, d||-|
|Wisconsin- Chapter 765 thru 767||No||16||18||-||letter||5 times, d||30 days|
|Wyoming- Title 20, Chapter 1||No||16 u||18||-||i||-||-|
|District of Columbia- Division VIII, Title 46, Subtitle 1, Chapter 4||Yes||16 a||18||1 month||t||3 days, d||-|
|Puerto Rico||No||Male-18 c, e, u Female-16 c, ag ag e, u||Male- 21 Female- 21 ag ag e||-||t||-||-|
shows that the writers for this dining table were not able to discover any information about the subject
- (a) Parental permission maybe not needed if small once was hitched.
- (b) Other statutory demands use.
- (c) more youthful parties may marry with parental permission.
- (c) (2) Younger parties may marry with parental and consent that is judicial.
- (d) Waiting period might be prevented
- ( ag ag e) Younger parties may obtain permit in the event of maternity or birth of son or daughter.
- (f) Parties must register notice of intention to marry with regional clerk.
- (g) No age limitations
- (h) whenever unmarried guy and unmarried girl, maybe maybe not minors, were residing together as guy and spouse, they could, without wellness certification, be married upon issuance of appropriate authorization.
- (i) Venereal infection and rubella (for feminine)
- (j) Residents, before termination of twenty-four hour waiting duration; non-residents, before termination of 96 hour period that is waiting.
- (k) Parental consent and/or permission of judge needed.
- (l) Unless events are 18 several years of age or maybe more, or feminine is expecting, or applicants would be the moms and dads of the residing child created away from wedlock.
- (m) Rubella for female; there are specific exceptions, and region judge may waive examination that is medical proof that emergency exists.
- (letter) candidates must get info on AIDS and certify having read it.
- (o) Judicial consent can be provided whenever moms and dads will not consent.
- (p) Venereal conditions; test for sickle cellular anemia offered at demand of examining doctor.
- (q) Any unsterilized feminine under 50 must submit with application for permit a medical report saying whether she had immunological reaction to rubella, or a written record that the rubella vaccine had been administered on or after her very very first birthday. Judge may by purchase dispense with your requirements.
- (r) If events are in minimum 16 years old, evidence of age and permission of parties in person are expected. If your parent is sick an affidavit by the incapacitated parent and a doctor's affidavit needed.
- (s) Doctor's certification should be filed thirty day period prior to see of intention.
- (t) Venereal conditions. In WV and OK, Circuit court judge might waive requirement
- (u) Younger parties may get permit in unique circumstances.
- (v) Below chronilogical age of permission parties require parental permission and authorization of judge, no more youthful than 14 for males and 13 for females.
- (w) Tests for sickle cellular might be needed.
- (x) candidates under age 18 must suggest that they will have had wedding guidance.
- (y) If an individual or both events are underneath the age for wedding without parental consent, three time waiting duration.
- (z) If an event does not have any parent living within state, and another celebration has residence in state for 6 months, no authorization required.
- (aa) real assessment and bloodstream test needed; offer of HIV counseling needed.
- (bb) Unless events are over 18 years old.
- (cc) 72 hour waiting duration after issuance of permit.
- (dd) Authorizes counties to offer for premarital guidance as a prerequisite to issuance of permit to people under 18 and people formerly divorced.
- (ee) needed offer of HIV test, and/or needs to be supplied with information about AIDS and tests available.
- (ff) No exam needed, but events must register affidavit of non-affiliction with contagious disease that is venereal.
- (gg) No common-law wedding may be entered into, however these states recognize common legislation marriages which were entered into before these times:
- Georgia- joined into ahead of 1, 1997 are recognized january,
- Idaho- joined into just before 1, 1997 are recognized january,
- Indiana- joined into just before January 1, 1958 are recognized,
- Ohio- entered into just before October 10, 1991 are recognized,
- Oklahoma - entered into just before November 1, 1998 are recognized, current situation unclear,
- Pennsylvania- entered into just before September 17, 2003 (see PNC Bank Corp. v. W.C.A. B., 831 A.2d 1269 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2003) or even January 1, 2005 (see 2004 home Bill No. 2719) are recognized.
- (hh) minimal age for common-law wedding determined to be 12; legislature instituted minimum chronilogical age of 18 for marriages started on or after September 1, 2006
Supply: located in component on a chart into the World Almanac and Book of Facts, World Almanac Books, 1999. Entries have already been updated through analysis the statutes and links included to allow consultation that is direct of state statutes.